Cy Young

In 1955, baseball commissioner Ford C. Frick, a former baseball writer himself, reasoned that pitchers deserved their own award honoring the best pitcher in baseball each year. He suggested one award to cover both leagues and that it be called the Cy Young Award.

In 1956, the first year of the award, Don Newcombe of the Brooklyn Dodgers not only won the Cy Young Award but also was recognized as the National League’s Most Valuable Player.
After voting a singular award for eleven years, the BBWAA voted in 1967 to award the Cy Young in each league. Frick had expressed strong objection to the dual awards, but fifteen months after his retirement, it was approved by then-commissioner Will Eckert.

2015 National League Cy Young Award Winner

Jake Arrieta, Chicago Cubs

Click here for previous season voting results.

2015 American League Cy Young Award Winner

Dallas Keuchel, Houston Astros

Click here for previous season voting results.

St. Louis Cy Young Winners:

Year Name
1968 Bob Gibson Read more
1970 Bob Gibson Read more
2005 Chris Carpenter Read more

Copyright © 2014 St. Louis Baseball Writers' Association Foundation. All Rights Reserved.